Titles….

Can I honestly call myself a writer?  Am I truly a photographer?  What about an artist?  Does the mere fact that I want to be these things make me these things?

I write.  I write and write and write.  I write blog posts.  I write big long social media posts.  I write ideas inside my head.  I have ideas for books.  But… I’ve never been published.  i’ve never put myself out there, sent off an article and HOPED for an acceptance letter.   I’ve written for paid blogging sites.  In fact, there was one that I earned quite a bit of income from back in 2014.  However, there were no guidelines.  I didn’t have to be a talented writer to earn income.  Am I truly a writer?

Photographer.  I have an eye for the artistic photograph.  I take many, many photos, mostly with my android phone.  I have a pretty nice SLR digital camera that I use sometimes.  However, I am a busy mom.  I don’t get out there and snap the photos that I have inside my head.  I have never been paid to take a photo.  Am I truly a photographer?

Artist.  I’ve recently started sketching.  I’m learning.  I’m a beginner.  It’s not natural yet.  I don’t know that you could even say I have talent.  Of course, there are some paid artists whom some would argue have no talent.   Can I call myself an artist simply because I want to be?

How do I think of myself?   I know I’m a mother.  i know I’m a wife.  I know I’m a yogini.  I know I’m a teacher.  What else am I?  What should I call myself?

0300005244297319901071163332375

Leave a Reply

